Flames of War Vietnam

I’ve enjoyed watching most of the Beasts of War Nam Week event (if you didn’t see it pop over to Beasts of War) it has made me want to get on with my Army of Flames of War: Vietnam.  When the Tropic Lightning rules were first given away with an issue of Wargames Illustratred (I can’t remember the number) I was interested in building a force to fight a few battles with.  However it has taken me a while to start to get the miniatures needed.  Unlike Warren on Beasts of War I wasn’t that interested in building an Air Cav Company, whilst all the helicopters looked fun and interesting I was more interested in the Blackhorse Cavalry Company (no infantry to paint).  I set out with a 1000 point list in mind at the time and draw together the following list:

  • HQ 2 x M113 ACAV (75 pts)
  • Blackhorse Cavalry Platoon of 1 x M113ACAV, 3 x M551 Sheridan and 4 x M112ACAV (415 pts)
  • Flamethrower Platoon 2 x M132 Zippo (70 pts)
  • Artillery Battery (off board at the time) (230 pts)
  • Aeroweapons Platoon 1 x AH-1G Hueycobra (130 pts)

Of course since then Battlefront have decided to release Tour of Duty, the next version of the Vietnam rules.  I’d already got hold of 4 M113 ACAVs and 3 M551 Sheridans so I was on my way, so I couldn’t afford to change Company (although the ANZACs looked nice).  I’d also purchased some MkV Centurions from Peter Pig at Cavalier earlier in the year for a different project but they would be useful in my new Blackhorse Company:

  • HQ 2 x M113 ACAV (90 pts)
  • Blackhorse Cavalry Platoon of 1 x M113ACAV, 3 x M551 Sheridan and 4 x M112ACAV (425 pts)
  • Flamethrower Platoon 2 x M132 Zippo (90 pts)
  • Artillery Battery 2 x M557 and 3 x M109 (305 pts)
  • Aeroweapons Platoon 1 x AH-1G Hueycobra (125 pts)
  • ANAZ Tank Platoon 3 x Centurion MkV (525 pts)

The eagle eyed amongst you will have noticed that the points cost has increased for all but the Cobra and that the Artillery are now on-board.  The total is now 1560 points (I guess the Zippos might go to make it 1500).  So now I need to move forward with this company in mind.  So fully constructed I have 4 M113ACAVs, 3 M551 Sheridans and 2 Centurion MkVs, I have one Centurion MkV to construct, the rest of the required pieces needs to be acquired yet.

I’ll post on how I’m doing on here at a later point.

