First game of the New Year

So for the first game in the shed of for me this year I played Warmachine against Mike’s Mercenary army. I field Dawnlord Vyros with units of Invitors and Sentinels alongside a Chimera and a Phoenix, a single ghostsniper rounded out the points. Mike fielded Durgen with a Blaster and Wrockhammer supported by Thor Steinhammer and a basher for Infantry he went with Alexia and the risen and Cyennor and the Nyss Archers, all of this was supported by Dougal, Herne and Jonne and Reinholdt.

The massive AOE attacks available from the core of that army destroyed most of my Sentinels and left Vyros looking particularly unhealthy. The Invictors managed to hold up the Basher and the Nyss. Unfortunately I made one particular mistake with the army I failed to charge Durgen with the Holy Avengered Phoenix!

One thought on “First game of the New Year

  1. I think this was a bit of a bad match-up for you, as your list was very solid but had no way to escape the brutal AOE’s on my feat turn against your Sentinels, which have to bunch up to make use of defensive line.

    I was also very lucky in that I always seemed to pick off key figures with my blast rolls UA’s, Ghost Sniper etc.

    You might want to try a Griffon out instead of the Chimaera in your list, it makes a great jack bullet when marshalled by the Sentinel UA and will leave points over for a Mage Hunter Assassin to add another threat. Also it has reach which makes it much easier to provide the flank bonus to Vyros and the Invictors.

    Look forward to playing them again!

Leave a Reply

